Thread: Trying To save Some Money

Default Trying To save Some Money

I have over a thousand .45acp brass to load, and do not have the money to spend on a Dillon, so was thinking of things to make this chore easier. Only thing to pop up is how to prime all these critters, and the RCBS press-mounted auto-prime is the only tool I lack. Those primer tubes are $15 each though. So I bought the following off McMaster-Carr:
    89965K39 Aluminum Tubing 5/16" OD, .21" ID, .049" Wall Thickness, 6' Length $11.49 each.

I bought two sticks, will cut them down, and install the primer fingers I'll get from RCBS. This'll save me about $130.00.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

We are going to need pics of this setup! I have not made a single cartridge yet but my plan is to get one of the lee hand primers. It seems that priming is about the only reloading chore that can be done sitting on the couch watching hockey, football or Tiffany arrow a deer.

If you are useing a rockchucker or similer press you might look at purchasing or building a case kicker to speed up the process. They are only $24 and include bullet tray.

Hey thanks for that idea, I'll check it out over the weekend. Do you have primers in stock? I need a case of Fed or Winnie large pistol.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Quote Originally Posted by LuJon View Post