Thread: Totally new at this

Default Totally new at this

Okay, so I am new to Alaska and really new to bear hunting. I was told it is illegal to bait bears and hunt them (looks pretty much on here like the same thing we do for deer down south) - so I am wondering if it really is illegal but just for some bears or was I misinformed?

And what (besides a rifle and regular hunting license) does someone need to bear hunt? I am sure there is a tag for it, but is there anything else? And what are the bear seasons?

And after killing a bear, then what? Any special rules?

Just wanting to do it right. Thanks.

Also, do you have to get hunting permission, or can anyone bait and hunt on public lands? Don't want to hunt the wrong place. Thanks.

Can't kill Grizz over a bait. Blackies are fair game as long as they don't have cubs.

Spring April 15-June30. Here where im at anyway.
    "Ya can't stop a bad guy with a middle finger and a bag of quarters!!!!"- Ted Nugent.

Sir with all respect here have you picked up a copy of the the fish and game reg. Please do. After you read them if you have any question we would all love to help you out thanks Mike.

Quote Originally Posted by AK Explorer View Post
    Okay, so I am new to Alaska and really new to bear hunting. I was told it is illegal to bait bears and hunt them (looks pretty much on here like the same thing we do for deer down south) - so I am wondering if it really is illegal but just for some bears or was I misinformed?

And what (besides a rifle and regular hunting license) does someone need to bear hunt? I am sure there is a tag for it, but is there anything else? And what are the bear seasons?

And after killing a bear, then what? Any special rules?

Just wanting to do it right. Thanks.

Also, do you have to get hunting permission, or can anyone bait and hunt on public lands? Don't want to hunt the wrong place. Thanks.