Thread: dalai lama fly tying instructions?

Default dalai lama fly tying instructions?

I'm new to tying with about 60 or 70 flys under my belt. I'd like to tie a conehead dalai lama in various colors, but am having a problem finding a good set of instructions on how to tie. It seems simple enough, although the few I've tried to tie come out looking like hell. Any help would be much appreciated. Also, any tips on attaching a conehead?

4th step wouldnt fit so here it is: flip fly over and add another piece of fur just behind cone head, trim so it stops just before the point of trailing hook, cement behind conehead and cut off forward hook.
    i know it looks like a childs drawing, but hey i tried hope this works. gotta love the paint program
    Attached Imagesdolly llama.bmp (989.2 KB, 63 views)
    -Tight Lines & head shakin

i posted this a while back and it worked for some hope it works for you!
    -Tight Lines & head shakin

Someone sent this to me a couple years ago when I was asking the same question:

Material:
    Front Hook 3XL Streamer (I generally use a Mustad 34011 2/0)
    Rear Hook Standard shank ( I use a Mustad 3407 6)
    Weight 10 mm cone + a few wraps of 0.025 or 0.030 lead
    Thread 3/0 black
    Connector 30 lb Dacron
    Body Crosscut black rabbit strip
    Tail Standard black rabbit strip
    Belly/Throat Standard white rabbit strip
    Flash Wide pearlescent Flashabou (Saltwater version)

Instructions
    1) Cut a 6 inch length of Dacron backing material and attach to rear hook using a snell or nail knot.
    2) Place the rear hook in a vise with the hook point up and lay down a thread wrap covering the nail knot and the shank.
    3) Cut a 2-1/2" to 3" black bunny strip and attach it to the rear hook at both the rear and front of the hook using the same technique that you would for a Matuka or Zonker.