Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should AK allow limited baiting of brown bears?

Default Should AK allow limited baiting of brown bears?

Forgive the pun, but bear with me for a minute...

This is my first year baiting along the Hope Road though I'm familiar with the area. I think we can all agree that the Hope Road corridor is popular because it's only an hour or so from Anchorage, sparsely populated (with people) and it holds bears year in and year out. It also supports fairly high amount of recreational traffic besides hunting, and if the annecdotal evidence (in the form of trail cam pics posted by forum members) holds true then the brown bear population on the Kenai is far better off than ADF&G claims.

I ask the question because I see the potential for growing bear-human conflicts. Given that there is a high concentration of black bear bait stations in this corridor, and that brown bears are off limits to baiters are we not habituating these bears, if only seasonally to associate human activity with food?

Black bears, by contrast, learn to become bait wary as they age because they are hunted but brown bears have no such negative association. For them spring baiting season is a free lunch. In the case of a place like the Hope Road, legal baiting activity is possibly drawing and/or holding browns in an area with a resident human population that spikes as the bears become active again. I don't know the history of human-brown bear conflicts in this area so I have no knowledge if there is even a problem or if baiting is affecting it.

Of course, this same line of reasoning could be used as justification for suspending baiting in this area but given the social and political pressure that would ensue this is an unlikely outcome IMO.