Thread: Strip or dead drift?

Default Strip or dead drift?

I am still learning this fly fishing bit and just had a question that I figured I'd throw out there. It is probably common knowledge for you guys, but when I go fishing with folks who say they know how to fly fish, I end up teaching them how to do it

So, I haven't caught anything with the famous Sculpin yet and I am going to give it a go up at willow tomorrow. What is the best way to use this fly? Throw upstreams of holes and structure and strip? Or let it dead drift? Should I put some shot on it to get it to the bottom? And should I use a strike indicator?

Thanks and any advise would be great! Or if anyone want to hitch a ride north to hit the water, hit me up.

I would try a little of everything and see what the fish want. Sometimes that is an easy meal (dead drift) and sometimes they are more aggressive. I would dead drift it through a hole and then try a swing and a strip method to bring it back (strip pause, strip pause, strip-strip or something like that).
    Fish when you can, work when you have to.

Default Thread Title??

Whoa...I thought something else was meant "Strip or Dead Dift" sounded like an ultimatum at first??
    http://www.myfishingpictures.com/watermark.php?file=133776
    Jedi Salmon Powers Activated!
    www.alaskansalmonslayers.com

Dead drift, swing then strip
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

I would swing it on a type III 10-12' sink tip with a 3-4' leader if the current allowed. Depends on where you are fishing of course. In the absence of decent current speed, consider stripping some. As with any other time, vary the length and speed of the strips until you find something that works.
    The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.

Default sounded like an ultimatum at first??

Haha, that would be a much more interesting thread