Thread: My first bait stations first hit - Pictures! Questions!

Default My first bait stations first hit - Pictures! Questions!

Yeehaw! I was given a general area by a bowhunter friend as a good place to start looking for a bait site. I went and scouted and picked what I thought looked like a good spot (largely based on what I learned here, thank you very much). Got a late start as I had some things come up, but I set it up on the 15th and took the first load of bait in on the 17th.

Went back in on the 19th to check bait and half my barrel was gone. My camera took some pictures and I got some that turned out pretty nice .

He must have hit the station 2 other times after dark because I have pictures taken in the dark twice (I turned the flash off).

What would you guess as to size. I'm not very good at this game yet, but it looks like a male to me. Is that right?

Also, I turned the flash off as I thought it might spook them. Do you use flash or not? I bought the cheapest camera I could find and it obviously doesn't have infared. It works in the day pretty well though.

I'm pretty excited. I will also post pics of my baitsite sans bear since I think it gets asked often.

Here is what I did based on this forum and a good conversation with blackbear when I picked up my baitem907 stuff.

Older keg, unsure of exact dimensions. Cut a 4.5 inch hole, wasn't sure if I should leave that stem inside or not (so I left it) Filed down the hole edges so it wouldn't chafe mr bear. Chained it to tree using those turnbuckes(??), unsure if that's the right word, but they have two hooks with threaded stems and you turn the metal thing connecting them to tighten the chain.