Thread: Steel shot lead distance?

Wink Steel shot lead distance?

Any experienced duck hunters out there, i'm new to waterfowl hunting, and would like to how much distance you lead after you (paint the bird ) when hunting ? After patterning you shot gun, are there any tips you can offer? My shots are under 35 yards, 12 gauge shotguns are used, and steel shot.I hunt in salt water bays, marshes, pass shoot diffrent types of ducks sometimes over decoys along shore. Like all duck hunters i'm looking to miss as little as I can. Thanks Bill.
    ; for them that honour me I will honour, and they that despise me shall be lightly esteemed. 1 SAMUEL 2;30

Well I'm no shooting expert, but I do seem to score about 80% on shots.
    I'm usually limited out by the time my hunting buddies are counting the last of there shells. LOL
    You might invest in a cheap off season hobby. Gather some of your buddies and go skeet throwing. Practice those shots you have the most difficulty.
    As far as leading. It depends on the speed of the bird. I use the front sight bead. If they are cupped setting into your spread I might lead by one bead. Other times if they are high and far away I might aim about a foot in front of the bird. Close range shooting when I know they are setting into the spread I will use improved cylinder. Those ducks that are decoy shy and you wind up pass shooting I'll use modified.

If it quacks like a duck and looks like a duck.
    Feed it no. 2's.

Wink

Wetland, thanks sounds like you have a good system nailed down! Bill.
    ; for them that honour me I will honour, and they that despise me shall be lightly esteemed. 1 SAMUEL 2;30

Wink AK F&G Steel Shot School

LongHunter,