Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Moose hunting information

Default Moose hunting information

I'm looking at doing a moose hunt in the future & would appreciate some info from you guys. I will tell you guys what I am wanting to do & let you make suggestions from there.

I am wanting to hunt moose without a guide, with archery equipment. I need to know a good area, what tags etc. I'll need, & any other information you think would be important. I'll be a total newbie to moose hunting & to Alaska but I have many years of experience bow hunting. Matter of fact, it's been over 20 years since I picked up a gun.

Default Moose

I have been on two "self guided" moose hunts, both times with a bush pilot flying us out. We took our own gear, food, shelter but we hunted with a rifle. Seasons can be checked on the Alaska game web site, tags for the area where we went were bought over the counter. PM me and I can give you more info. Mark

I sent you a e-mail Mark. Any input from anyone else?

Default First Steps

I would first obtain a copy of the 2009/2010 Alaska Hunting regulations and study them, and be intimately familiar with them for the areas you are considering to hunt. As lots of questions, in one of the other forums, same website, I think there is one specific to regulation questions.

Second, the time for 2010/2011 drawing permits has passed. The next drawings permit window opens in November/December and deadline is 12/31.

Since I don't know if you are interested in hunting around populated area or areas easily accessible to a large hunting population, or interested in a remote fly-in type of hunt. Obviously, a fly-in reduces competition, but it can be expensive, and requires lots of planning to put it all togeter.

There are some great videos for calling them in; and they can be called in. I would suggest working on your cow call and bull calling.