Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Why not leave Kings alone in the salt?

Default Why not leave Kings alone in the salt?

Just wondering why we fish kings in the salt when river after river is crashing and closed. At least with rivers you can shut it down or open it up and only impact that river. When kings are plucked out of the salt who knows what rivers fish you are killing. Not looking to start a pi$$ing match here just wondering. A

Default I guess people could also say...

... why not leave kings alone in the river, where they are trying to spawn?

I'm betting a good portion of the kings caught in salt are feeder kings and not spawners anyway.

I agree with leaving them alone in the rivers where need be. I am just wondering if we are taking out the kings from the salt that would be in the river in a year or so when we need them on the gravel. i am no expert my any means nor do i understand a lot about salmon biology so thats why i am asking.

Default I don't think...

the success rate in the ocean is quite the same as it is in a river...

so there is ocean fishing for kings returning to spawn, and then there is ocean fishing for the wintertime feeder kings.

Obviously those with access to the feeders probably enjoy catching them all winter, but I share your concern that this is depleting in-river returns and probably this pressure has increased substantially in recent years.

It doesn't target specific stocks so much as in-river fisheries...but is still a pressure on the resource that in my opinion is unnecessary.

apparently there aren't enough other types of fish in the ocean that folks just have to hammer the kings all winter.

Like you I am no king salmon expert but being that it is the true prize of an Alaskan river I think all users ought to be protecting these guys.

Makes no sense to have so many closures in recent years of our UCI chinook sportfishing in the freshwater while in the ocean they are all fair game.