Thread: WHY do Shotgun shells feed so well, considering their blunt nose.

Default WHY do Shotgun shells feed so well, considering their blunt nose.

Yes, you can get a failure to feed with a shotgun, but for the most part they function well, and problems are easy to clear. Even more impressive with their flat nose. I reference this question relative to the problems when you blow out the .300 H&H with its sweet taper, to a near straight wall case.

Why do Shotguns feed so reliable........?

Stealing shamelessly from the movie The Graduate, "I've got one word for you son.... plastic."

Look inside the action and watch what is going on.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

Quote Originally Posted by BrownBear View Post
    Stealing shamelessly from the movie The Graduate, "I've got one word for you son.... plastic."

Yes, I think that is part of it. Another is that the shell is craddled and centered, and fully supported as the bolt closes.

I'm old enough to have grown up shooting a whole lot of paper shotgun shells. Some guns liked them and some didn't, as already said, depending on how well the guns were designed. But I gotta say that a whole lot of guns that were jam masters with paper suddenly worked fine with plastic shells. Live and love the "good old days," cuzz they're here now. It wasn't so good back in the 50's, by any means.

well they have a big chamber and the shell is lifted straight in front of it and the force moving the shells are stronger. Lots of money and trophy shooters still prefer paper shells