Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 8 wt Fly rod enough for kings?

Smile 8 wt Fly rod enough for kings?

I have an 8 wt Redington with an Orvis Battenkill Bar Stock reel. Will this be adequate for Kings? I know most people recommend a 10 wt for Kings, but I don't want to buy a new rod & reel for just one fish for just one trip if I don't need to. A friend of mine said it would be OK for most Kings, but that if I luck out and hook a monster , I could lose it due to too light of a rod . What do you guys that do this every year say?

Regards,
    Bruce

Is it still under warranty and do you have a reciept? If so than give it a go.

Your pushing your luck for sure. A good 8wt gets used and abused on 2nd run reds let alone a king. Lets just say a small 25lb king with 7MPH current. Probably not gonna be a good ending. I have been fishing up here for 27 years and would not want that fight. The only way I would try it is from a boat. You would have to be able to chase the fish up and down there river trying to wear them out before your rod becomes kindling. Then if your in an area with lots of boats you will have your hands full for sure. Im not saying it cant be done. I love a challenge myself but IMO that one is pushing it.
    Grandkids, Making big tough guys hearts melt at first sight

Depends on whose 8 wt you are fishin'.... they're not all created equal.

Then again neither are anglers.

Some know how to extract maximum performance from their equipment.

An 8 wt CAN be adequate if you know how to make a rod constantly bend with 75-80% load AND apply maximum pressure low and to the side at all the appropriate time points during the battle. Just realize it WILL take more time.

I landed my fair share of kings up to 30 pounds with an old glass 8 wt Fenwick, but I'd much prefer a 10 wt to make the job more expeditious.
    "Let every angler who loves to fish think what it would mean to him to find the fish were gone." Zane Grey