Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question on what to use for Pike

Default Question on what to use for Pike

Hello all,

I am new to fishing in Alaska. I have mainly fished rainbows down in the lower 48 so am new to fishing for other species of fish. I am stationed at Eielson AFB near Fairbanks. There are quite a few lakes on the base and I take the family out when I go fishing. I would just like some advice on what is the best to use for Pike. I have heard a lot of folks on base talk about the Pike. It has sparked my interest. Any and all advice will be appreciated.

Default Multiple strikes...

with pretty much anthing that rattles, like the Ratt'l Trap by Rappla, the Wiggle Warts work well, & as does the Kwik Fish K15...I SLAY the competition here on the beaches usin' either the Wiggle Wart or the rattlin' K15...& they're usin' spinners, & spoons...

We used an AR-15 with the cheapest ammo. And On Donkey Lake (In the shallows), we would harvest 300 to 500 per day. Then and maybe now they were considered a predator, hence no limit/any method was legal.

Frogs work really well get the seedless ones and throw them on the bank and hen drag them in the water they will go crazy for it good luck

Default Back in the 70's while stationed at Eielson

I used just about any lure. The secret was to take a small rubber band and make them weedless. You then can cast into pads and grasses along side any lake and can pull out some monsters. Just thread band thru shank above the hook and then thru itself and then hook onto the barb. It keeps it from getting snagged . The band just keeps the hook from setting into grasses and getting stuck Good luck. There were some killer lakes going back towards MOA, in back of base
    If a dipnetter dips a fish and there is no one around to see/hear it, Did he really dip?