Thread: traditional shooter ?

Default traditional shooter ?

I started shooting longbow a few years back and have practiced quite a bit and read a lot on form and everything else... from what I read you are supposed to keep your draw arm in line with your bow arm, but i am on the taller side 6'3" and to do that I would pull the arrow off the shelf, I was wondering if anyone has any helpful advise on this, it is hard to have a smooth release without the arm inline with the arrow, I shoot full legnth shafts, when I used to shoot compound I shot 31" and had a release Anyone shoot tradbow in Homer area?

Quote Originally Posted by fold308 View Post
    I started shooting longbow a few years back and have practiced quite a bit and read a lot on form and everything else... from what I read you are supposed to keep your draw arm in line with your bow arm, but i am on the taller side 6'3" and to do that I would pull the arrow off the shelf, I was wondering if anyone has any helpful advise on this, it is hard to have a smooth release without the arm inline with the arrow, I shoot full legnth shafts, when I used to shoot compound I shot 31" and had a release Anyone shoot tradbow in Homer area?
    Bend your bow arm at the elbow and turn your body to face your target just a bit. That will shorten your draw length somewhat. Works ok for me.

Sorry I don't have a good answer to your question but if you go to tradgang.com and post your question on the shooters forum I'm sure you'll get some helpful advice. Best of luck...

shoot asbell style....howard hill also had to shoot with a bent elbow for the same reason asbell bends crouches stoops and contorts himself....tall guys with long draws. Howard did it due to finding correct spined shafts.