Thread: Advice on buying a boat

Default Advice on buying a boat

I am debating buying a 16' cataraft for my family. My wife and I have some experience rafting (we've done personal trips down the Arkansas, Delores, and a couple of others rivers in the Southwest). We also have a 2 year old who dislikes hiking, however, she likes to be outdoors and loves water. So, my thought is that if I buy a raft we could do a bunch of 1-3 day trips in the rivers within a couple hundred miles of Anchorage. This way, I could fish, my wife would get some great outdoor time, and our daughter could be outdoors without having to hike. I figured we could do parts of the Kenai, Russian, and many of the rivers along the Parks Hwy.

So, here's my question: Am I crazy? Or are there enough Class I-II rivers in the area that could keep us entertained?

Any and all advice is welcomed... thanks in advance

Thumbs up

Quote Originally Posted by mattdow View Post
    I am debating buying a 16' cataraft for my family. My wife and I have some experience rafting (we've done personal trips down the Arkansas, Delores, and a couple of others rivers in the Southwest). We also have a 2 year old who dislikes hiking, however, she likes to be outdoors and loves water. So, my thought is that if I buy a raft we could do a bunch of 1-3 day trips in the rivers within a couple hundred miles of Anchorage. This way, I could fish, my wife would get some great outdoor time, and our daughter could be outdoors without having to hike. I figured we could do parts of the Kenai, Russian, and many of the rivers along the Parks Hwy.

So, here's my question: Am I crazy? Or are there enough Class I-II rivers in the area that could keep us entertained?

Any and all advice is welcomed... thanks in advance
    Sounds to me like a perfect way to experience the outdoors... @ 2 years old the hiking outlook will likely gain a bit more endurance.