Thread: New To BackCountry Skiing

Default New To BackCountry Skiing

Ok folks I am a noob to the backcountry skiing scene here in AK. I need some info on where to go and if there are any groups to go out with as I do not wish to travel alone.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

What do you want to do? As in, are you more interested in touring or skinning up to ski down?

The two hotbeds of backcountry skiing are Hatcher Pass and Turnagain Pass. As far as I'm concerned, Hathcher's is closer, but the snow conditions are usually better in Turnagain. Turnagain has the best of both worlds as well - great mountains for decent and some nice valleys to explore if you're more into touring. In addition, the entire south side of the road is off-limits to motorized use, so there are always fresh lines to ski.

Let me know what it is you like to do and I'll try to give you some better advice.

-Brian

Smile

I am really interested in skinning up to ski down as my set up is probably not the best for touring.

I'm always up for a new partner. I might be heading to Turnagain on Sunday - I'll keep you posted. Do you have an avalanche beacon, shovel, and probe? (Also, do you telemark or do you have Radonee (AT) gear? Just curious.)

-Brian

Sweet, I have Touring inserts for my alpine bindings, and all necessary avy gear (Beacon, shovel, probe, etc.) Keep me posted I am game for heading up to the pass to break my new gear in.

Thanks,

Jered

Jered - Hey, I thought I was going to be able to get out, but it looks like it's not going to work this weekend. I'll keep you posted on possible future trips.

-Brian

Brian,

I am tied up tomorrow as well. I tested my skins and inserts at Glen alps and I was pleased. So now I am pumped to go where there is actual snow.

Thanks

Jered

Default Anyone gotten any good turns in anywhere lately?

Just wanted to find out where the good skiing is lately. Let me know..

Thanks