Thread: Double set trigger problem

Default Double set trigger problem

I'm new to muzzle loading and have recently bought my first bp rifle, a TC Hawken. It is second hand and seems to have been well cared for. My only gripe is the double triggers. I don't really understand them but I don't think they work. When I go to the full cocked position, the rear trigger is just kinda loose. I can then fire the gun with the front trigger but I would guess the trigger pull is 7 or 8 pounds with a fair amount of slack to take up first. I removed the lock and trigger assembly and they both look new inside. I'm not sure if I just don't know how to use the gun properly or if something is out of whack. Any help from you muzzle loader gurus is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

there should be a little screw between the triggers that you turn to adjust. it is accesible from the trigger guard. You dont need to remove anything. Just keep playing with that till you get your results. When you set the rear trigger you should feel a stiff resistance and a click. that means your set. Then use the front trigger.

Matt, thanks for the help...BUT, what do you mean "set the rear trigger". How exactly do I do that. I think you need to squeeze the rear trigger to set it but nothing seems to happen.

yeah your doing it right, sqeeze it till it clicks. It takes quite a bit of force some time. Keep fiddling with that adjustment screw. You may have to take the trigger out and inspect it to make sure nothing is blocking the levers. They are pretty simple devices, once you take it out, you can play with it to see how it works. They come out in one piece so dont worry about losing parts

Hey IFR-

Matt has you on a good course of action, but I'm going to hop in with something additional.