Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Check weight for beam type scale?

Default Check weight for beam type scale?

I hope this isn't too much of a newbie question:
    How important (if at all) is it to have a check weight set with a beam type scale?

With the RCBS scale that I have, the scale is zeroed by adjusting the foot on one side. It's not even clear to me that you could further calibrate the scale if a check weight revealed it was weighing incorrectly.

While I am a newbie to reloading, in a past life I did a lot of weighing of chemicals in a lab. I only recall calibration checks and adjustments with the digital scales.

I thought I'd check though since I really don't want the end result of bad recollection being a blown up gun or worse. I've looked around a bunch on "the series of tubes" and didn't find much.

Some of the new electronic scales come with check weights. I sometimes use a jacketed bullet of some kind.
    I may be slow, but I get where I'm going!

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

You are right.

You adjust a Beam Scale by leveling it.

There's no reason to weigh a check weight.

Smitty of the North
    Walk Slow, and Drink a Lotta Water.
    Has it ever occurred to you, that Nothing ever occurs to God? Adrien Rodgers.
    You can't out-give God.

So you know how you zeroed it with the foot, nothing in the pan, and got the beam leveled with the stationary marking.

The point of the check weight is to simply set it for say 25 grains, throw the 25g check weight in the pan, then zero it using the foot so you know it is reading accurately.

With absolutely nothing in the pan, how do you know that zero is accurate?

That's my take on it anyway.

I've had this note in my reloading notes for quite some time. Might help.

~~~~~~~~
    In the absence of certified check weights, you can use US coins to verify accuracy on your powder scale. Each nickel weighs 5 grams. That converts to 77.16 grains.