Thread: Zen-Ray Binoculars

Thumbs up Zen-Ray Binoculars

Wife was interested in a quality pair of binoculars for wildlife viewing. We just returned from Stateside trip and were able to purchase Zen-Ray's top-of-the-line 10 x 43 Zen Ed2 ($424) binoculars from their Beaverton (OR) office. We had read lots of good things about these binos on Monstermuleys forum and a variety of bird-watching sites, but were not willing to purchase on-line without viewing "in-hand" first. Zen-Ray is a Chinese based company that sells direct to public--no middle men involved. (Website: http://www.zen-ray.com/ )

All the internet information sounded really interesting, but....

Long story short, Charles, company manager, was kind enough to show us his inventory and we were impressed enough to purchase a pair at their Oregon office. I am not a binocular expert, but do spend many days afield glassing many hours each day. (I learned many years ago, after purchasing lots of cheaper to mid-range priced binoculars, that acceptable optics for my hunting purposes needed to be the higher end models.) Optically, these Zen-Rays appear to be in the same class as my Swarovski EL 10 x 42 and older Zeiss Classic 10 x 40. Zen-Ray's overall clarity, sharpness, color, and light gathering are dead-on! I am not going to be leaving my Swarovski's at home, but these Zen-Rays look really good!

If anyone wanted to see these in-person, I'm in Wasilla and would be willing to let you take a look at them. PM me and we'll make arrangements.... This is getting to be the "busy" time of the year for me (I'll be gone within next couple days for a week or so b-bear hunting...), but I'll be do my best to check in.