Thread: Fishing for kings

Default Fishing for kings

Whats going on guys? Originally posted this on bloodydecks.com and was directed this way for some good info.

Had a couple of questions for you boys about fishing kings around anchorage, river fishing only. I will be making a trip up there in the middle of june and need to get the low down on how to catch one of these bad boys. I have extensive experience in majority of fresh and saltwater species but this will be my first time to chase these guys.

Things I need to know....

I have a ton of different reels to choose from but was planning on taking a couple of Calcutta 700s that have been magged and can cast all kinds of rigs....good or bad choice?

All my reels are spooled with braid....I heard that this was alright as long as a clear mono leader was used....right or wrong? If right, how long of a leader is typical, #lb test, etc?

Need suggestions on rod length and action....I assuming like a 7-8ft, medium action - heavy action, all recommendations are welcome.

Lure suggestions? Types of rigs? etc...

Places to go around Anchorage....not looking for your secrete spot but just an area that would be better to try out then most.

Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated guys. This is kind of a trip of a life time for me and I am trying to use all the resources I have in order to capitalize on it. Going to be in the area June 15th-20th and will be camping 2-3 days somewhere 2-3 hours outside the city.

Thanks,
    -SA