Thread: .375 H&H Primer Pressure Signs

Indiana, only because that's where the check came from...

Default .375 H&H Primer Pressure Signs

I'm new to loading the .375 H&H, therefore I would appreciate some help evaluating these subtle but noted pressure signs. I think the photo is pretty much self explanatory and the individual cartridges representative of the series as I worked up in powder charge. However, to add a little further information, these were once fired rounds. There were no extraction problems noted and just slight case stretching above the belt as I would expect. The slight blue color around some of the primer pockets is residue from my metal cleaner, not sign of leakage. What's noted as a sign of increasing pressure is the obvious flattening and stretching of the primer as I went up in powder charge. Should I be concerned and back-off from the maximum recommended powder charge of 77 grains of RL 15 because of these pressure signs? Load data is from the #4 Barnes Reloading Manual.

Thanks,

Eric
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails _375-Primer-Pressure.jpg  

Quote Originally Posted by ekberger View Post