Thread: Opinions on Clip In pedals

Default Opinions on Clip In pedals

I'm new to mountain biking. I've ridden bikes all my life, but have never done any serious offroading. I've recently purchased a full suspension Cannondale and I am looking to get out a bit this summer.

My question is: Who uses clip in pedals for offroading?

I've used them on road bikes for a while, but wasn't sur eif they were applicable to offroad. I'd assume they would be very useful when climbing.

Does anyone make clip in pedals that have a platform so you can do some casual riding?

Any input would be appreciated.

Wasilla, Alaska

Default I do

I use Shimano M424 SPD Pedals they have cages around them so you can ride while not clipped in. There is a time to be clipped in and a time you wish that you weren't. I like the option so if I want to goof off I'm not tied to my bike if I have to bail off, they are nice when climbing hills unless your 10 year old decides to stop suddenly right in front of you! Here is a picture of the pedal I use I bought them at REI.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Searching for more cowbell!

I used them exclusively in Colorado and Utah.
    I don't use them here as I use the bike for transportation to get to fishing or something similar.
    ><((((>.`..`.. ><((((>`..`.><((((>

"People who drink light 'beer' don't like the taste of beer; they
    just like to pee a lot." --Capitol Brewery

Thanks for the input. keep it coming......

South Central

My very old bike has very old Frogs. They were never good for "casual" riding and I always wanted to switch to SPDs. A friend tried "egg beaters" for a while and then switched to SPDs and likes them a lot.

I found that clipping in made me think about what I was doing and improved my trail riding. However, it made slow speed stuff pretty deadly for me since I have a horrible sense of balance.