Thread: ar15 free float rail

Default ar15 free float rail

I would like to install a Daniel Defense LiteRail 9.0 onto a DSarms ZM-4 upper receiver that has a standard front sight post and mid-length handguards. I have a Yankee Hill gas block with flip up front sight to go onto it as well.

How do you remove the Delta Ring and do I need any special tools?

Is there a local place to Eagle River/Anchorage that can do this or is it something simple enough that I can do it myself?

Also, I have a Rock River Arms bolt carrier group that will be going in it. Do I need to do any headspacing?

This is my first build so forgive me if my questions seem a little "novice" in nature.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Quote Originally Posted by rangerheave View Post
    I would like to install a Daniel Defense LiteRail 9.0 onto a DSarms ZM-4 upper receiver that has a standard front sight post and mid-length handguards. I have a Yankee Hill gas block with flip up front sight to go onto it as well.

How do you remove the Delta Ring and do I need any special tools?

Is there a local place to Eagle River/Anchorage that can do this or is it something simple enough that I can do it myself?

Also, I have a Rock River Arms bolt carrier group that will be going in it. Do I need to do any headspacing?

This is my first build so forgive me if my questions seem a little "novice" in nature.

Thanks in advance for any responses.
    You can remove the Delta Ring with an armorers wrench, and an action vise.

It is simple enough, if you have the proper tools. Without the right tools its a frustrating pain (as with most things).

If the RRA bcg is new (in spec) and the barrel is new (in spec) then you don't need to headspace the barrel. If either of them are out of spec then you'll have trouble. If in doubt skip the diy stuff and take it to a local gunsmith. Any of the guys in town could do the work for you.