Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help from hunters needed!

Anchorage, AK. . . but moved from Los Angeles last June!

Lightbulb Help from hunters needed!

My name is Becky, and I'm a graduate student at UAA. I'm studying
    genetic variation and parasites of brown and black bears in
    south-central Alaska but need your help to conduct this study. We
    identify parasites within the intestinal tract of bears, and I hope to
    increase our data set with samples collected from hunter harvested
    animals.
    I am ready and willing to travel to the carcass to make the collections
    myself. If you are willing to help, please give me a call
    (907-227-5579) as soon as possible after you take your bear. I will do
    my best to respond to every call, but I have limited resources (no ATV,
    only a small vehicle).
    Thank you very much for your help. It's greatly appreciated.
    Becky

Thumbs up Remote...but

Becky,
    Initially sounds interesting. i mean who among us wouldn't give you one of our kidneys in the name of science?

OK Seriously...it really does sound interesting. Really.
    But many of us hike several rough miles to get to the good places we have found in the last 20+- years when we go out to whack black bears. And for brown bears, I for one, will be exceptionally remote "towards Cold Bay". Because you will be warm here in Southcentral AK, are there any specimens we might be able to bring back to you. I mean, the carry-on baggage X-ray operator dude would probably love to see me bring back a bear colon or brain back to you. I can bring you a jar full of those wiggly white worms that crawn out of any gut would! But i generally flesh-out and salt them thumb size wart-like growths things on the face of older boars.

Seriously...
    So...is there anything we can do...anything we can bring back to you?

Dennis

Thumbs up more on Becky's project - thanks Dennis!

Hi Dennis,