Thread: Just looking for some grayling patterns..

Default Just looking for some grayling patterns..

I'm sure there's a few post somewhere on good grayling flys, but i cant seem to find em. So I'm pretty new to this fly tying thing, I've probably tied about 40-50 flys now, but I'm looking for some proven grayling flys. I got a secret spot that I'd like to try em out on this summer. Anything information would be much appreciated.

Anything and everything... Greyling are ferocious. Just about any type of small nymphs and dries work just fine.
    I am not against the flippin kenai, since I cannot but suspect it keeps armies of the unworthy from discovering every other stream... ~Paul O'Neil~/~Wyo2AK~

Quote Originally Posted by muzzyman87 View Post
    Anything and everything... Greyling are ferocious. Just about any type of small nymphs and dries work just fine.

So true. You can toss a bright red hook out and small Grayling will hit them. The are feeding machines. It does not matter what you throw. As my wife says "if you cant catch a grayling, you should quit fishing"
    Grandkids, Making big tough guys hearts melt at first sight

Parachute adams

Grayling can be picky, especially during a mayfly hatch
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

Default Here's some stuff...

Tried the "Search", "Advanced Search", "Google Search" routine and found a couple of old threads:

Definitely start with this one for an appetizer, entertainment, or if you haven't met AOD member, JediMasterSalmonSlayer yet . Although no specific flies ("dries") mentioned, the video clip is well done and fun to watch: http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...ad.php?t=34930

This one's a short thread, but with photos of several beautiful grayling flies tied with moose hair: http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...ad.php?t=76477

Here's a longer thread, with many flies named: http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...ead.php?t=1419