Thread: Which inflatable canoe?

Default Which inflatable canoe?

Been researching inflatables for hunting. Something to carry on the air charter to Kodiak so we can cruise up and down the coast and small rivers. It would need to hold two adults, guns, day packs etc and maybe a couple of boned out deer on the return. Most likely it would be propelled by a 2-2.5 hp motor. Might also be used to cruise smaller waters while moose hunting. And finally, it might be occassionly used on the Kenai so we can avoid the combat fishing and find out own red holes. Used to own a canoe years ago but would still concede I am a beginner.

So far the Aire Traveler is my first choice. It is wider with more interior space. But I cant seem to find a lightweight motor mount for it. Like the idea of the raised seats which can be moved around.

Did some reading on the Gary King 15 and 17 inflatables as well but the seats cant be moved and the motor would be right behind the rear seat making it poke into your back and difficult to steer.

Does anyone here own a Traveler? If you do, what is your opinion of it?

Then there is the Soar 14. Nice, but 30 pound motor mount and it is narrower than the Traveler. So it would need an aftermarket mount as well. Surely a 30 pound motor doesnt require a 30 pound mount or rowing cage to attach to?

Something about the Traveler grabs me but it would need an aftermarket motor mount. Has anyone here had a mount made? I have a tendency to always go bigger but if I keep to 70 pounds for the canoe the 2 or 2.5 outboard will do fine. Like the idea of the motor hanging off to one side so it would be easier to steer. Paddling solo is not an issue as I will always be with a partner.

Then I just looked at the Grabner Speed. All I can say is wow, everything I am looking for except the price tag. But am curious, does anyone sell these locally? Do they sell for above or below MSRP? $3,500 is a bunch of money.
    Am open to all ideas at this point. Thanks.