Thread: 6.5x55 Swede barrel length?

Default 6.5x55 Swede barrel length?

What's the shortest barrel length the 6.5x55 is happy with?

Default bump

Murphy, Any advice?

I would guess 22 inches.

Quote Originally Posted by iofthetaiga View Post
    What's the shortest barrel length the 6.5x55 is happy with?
    I am not an expert on various barrel lengths with the Swede, but I will say that my own Swede (Model 70 FWT) has a 22 inch barrel and prefers powders on the definite slower end of the burn spectrum, i.e. H4831, RL 19, RL 22, etc. RL 22 has proven most accurate in my rifle and propels 140s at 2700+ with long case life. I would not want a 6.5x55 with a shorter barrel, but another inch or two longer might prove more useful with these slow powders.

used to have a barrel that was cut down from 24 to 16 1/2" I finally shot it out and finished up with a new custom that was 24" I have stay with this length on all my rifles as it has worked out vary well. Not to long and not to short, but each to his own.
    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tryants." (Thomas Jefferson

Yea, of course I knew full well before I posted the question that the answer was somewhere between 22 and 24 inches. As is human nature however, I was hoping someone would tell me they were shooting 2500 FPS and 0.5 MOA from a 20 inch tube, thereby reinforcing my delusion that I might overcome physics with wishfull thinking. Oh well.

Quote Originally Posted by iofthetaiga View Post
    Yea, of course I knew full well before I posted the question that the answer was somewhere between 22 and 24 inches. As is human nature however, I was hoping someone would tell me they were shooting 2500 FPS and 0.5 MOA from a 20 inch tube, thereby reinforcing my delusion that I might overcome physics with wishfull thinking. Oh well.