Thread: New to AK and starting a garden

Default New to AK and starting a garden

I'm new to AK and I'm starting a garden this year. I live in Anchorage and I was wondering if people could give me a good idea when it is a good time to plant the various plants/seeds here. I am going to try to do-
    Tomatoes, Carrots, Peas, Peppers, Cucumbers, zucchini, crookneck, green beans, potatoes, broccoli, cauliflower, lettuce, spinach, pumpkins, garlic, onions, and whatever else I am forgetting. I would appreciate any advice. Thanks!

I've only been gardening a few years in Anchorage, so I'm by no means an expert. My advice would be to focus on cool season veges (lettuce, carrots, cauliflower, broccoli, spinach, peas, beans, etc). Swiss chard and kahle does very well up here, basically any leafy greens. Folks do grow tomatos in Anchorage but it's is hard to do without a greenhouse. If we get a summer like 2009, it's easier than during a summer like 2008 (pretty cold). Same with peppers, I doubt you'll have much success without a greenhouse. For zucchini, I'd suggest getting them started indoors now. I usually figure Memorial Day (give or take a week) before things are safe to go in the ground, so veges that take longer to develop need a head start. We can have snow / freezing temps by mid-September (not always, but it's possible), so you're basically looking at a 90 days of decent weather before all bets are off.

What is crookneck, if I may ask?

Default Crookneck

Crookneck is a summer squash like zucchini. It's called crookneck as the neck of it is crooked. It is yellow with a slightly harder skin than zucchini. You may be familiar with it being called summer squash.