Thread: Need advice. Buying 2nd body. 5Dii or 50D?

Question Need advice. Buying 2nd body. 5Dii or 50D?

Floyd, Ray, Cory, Eric, Sierra, Jim, Eddie, etc... need some help guys.

Looking for a 2nd body. Got a 40D now. Looking at a 5Dii or a 50D. My main interest is landscape. I mostly use a tripod, shutter release, ISO 100, etc.. Is the 5Dii going to produce much better images than the 50D (or my 40D)? I have 10-22, 24-105, and 100-400 lenses. Might pick up a 17-40 if I go FF. If not, will use 10-22 and 24-105 on my new 50D. I will keep 40D on my 1.4TC and 100-400 for wildlife. Looking for a new set up for landscapes only. Looks like about a $1500 difference in price between these two options. I read about the IQ being better, more "pop", etc.. but I am not a techie type. Hell, to be honest guys, I don't even know what this "pop" is, what causes it, and certainly don't know how to quantify it. I just photograph what pleases my eye. PP skills are very basic. Looking for some input from some more knowledgable folks than I. Is it worth the extra dough to jump to FF?

Dan
    The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.

I had an older (12MP) 5D for a short while, and compared it to images from my (10MP) 40D and (15MP) 50D. Printing at 8x10" I couldn't tell the difference, but with larger prints I could. At 13x19" the 40D/50D prints were still very nice; just not as nice as the 5D prints. I could also tell the difference between the 40D and 50D prints of the same size. The difference, while noticeable in each case, was never all that substantial. Others will disagree, I'm sure.

Where the 5D really shined was at high ISO. It could use 3200 ISO with hardly any loss of quality, and the 40D/50D files looked about as clean at 1000 or 1200 or so.