Thread: drive between anchorage and wasilla...

Default drive between anchorage and wasilla...

We're moving up to AK here around the end of may. Looks like she may get a job in Wasilla and me in Anchorage. If we get a place in Eagle River or somewhere in between, is that drive doable in the winter time? How bad is it?

Very doable, can sometimes take awhile if someone causes a pile up but doesn't happen that often. Also going towards Wasilla in the mornings and returning in afternoon makes for a nice drive, most of the traffic is going the other way.

Very easy commute, Anchorage to ER is paved 2+ lanes each way. Highway is lighted and has moose fences up. ER to Wasilla is paved 2 lanes each way and lighted much of the way. Both directions are 65mph roads. Sure weather or accidents can slow you up just like anywhere in AK. Those roads get very good maintenance. The commute is a non-issue. Welcome to AK.

I've been doing the ER Anchorage commute for 13 years. It's really not that bad, some days your 1/2 hour commute will be 1 1/2 hours, you just take your time. If the roads are bad in the evening either leave early, or get a leisurely dinner in anchorage and peruse a sporting goods stort til about 7pm, then head home. Whatever you do, don't use cruise control, as there will be times when your car starts sliding, take your foot off the gas and let it straighten out.

That said I'm sick of the commute and am planning to move to Anchorage, better things to do with my time then sitting in a car over 1hr a day, on a good day.

I once did the E.R. to Wasilla communt. Talk about a cake walk..all the traffic was going the other way If I were in your situation E.R. or other parts of Chugiak would be on the tope of my list.
    Bunny Boots and Bearcats: Utility Sled Mayhem