Thread: Mt Goat hunting in Southeast

Default Mt Goat hunting in Southeast

What are some good areas for mt Goat hunting in SE?

Looking to do a fall hunt, trying to figure out my options....

Quote Originally Posted by OneLunG View Post

Looking to do a fall hunt, trying to figure out my options....
    Try the Misty Fiords and/or give Muskeg a jingle.

When I was a flight mechanic in the Coast Guard out of Sitka, we sure saw a lot of Mtn Goats around Sitka on our flights..

Quote Originally Posted by OneLunG View Post
    There are good Mt Goat areas all the way from Juneau to Portland Canal on the mainland. East of Petersburg up the Stikine is rarely hunted as is SE of Wrangell ... lots of lakes to choose from.

The Misty if probably one of the most hunted areas in SE but still there is a large area to choose from in all of Unit 1a ....

The better weather is in the norther panhandle and the farther you get south the weather becomes more of a factor.

Default Weather

Ya....here in Sitka we get like 5 less inches per year in rain then Ketchikan. That just might happen on your goat hunt if your lucky

A cloud is a cloud and sometimes it moves like a cloud. Often though......it never moves.

There are goats on Baranof and the Mainland. Rev. island has em too by permit.

Come on over and climb some hills. Look at the map of the island find a lake with 4k peaks nearby and start climbing and glassing. There is a good population here on Baranof.

hehe...I guess I should've narrowed it down a bit. I'm looking for mainly in the Juneau area - Can be within a short floatplane ride from Juneau...

I shot my goat over in the Chilkats north of Endicott River. I can provide the details. Short skiff ride out of Echo.

You can hunt north of Eagle River. There is a route up Yankee Basin that will take you up on a ridge. A guy took a 10"+ billy there a few years back.

There are a couple of alpine lakes in Berners you can fly into.