Thread: Moose Hunt

Default Moose Hunt

2 of us from MI are spending a month in 2011: drive to Alaska, hunt moose in Delta junction-Fairbanks area and fish. We appreciate any info on doing an affordable hunt. We are both experienced and are interested in a "do it yourself" hunt for moose.,
    Thanks for any info.

Wally28 and Pine

Wally,
    My son and I are doing a fly-in DIY hunt this fall, driving up from Kansas. We will be hunting in 20E, which is a little north and east of Delta Junction. Upon our return, I will be happy to give you some input on what worked/didn't work for us. Get started now in earnest, on research. I've been working on my hunt for over 2 1/2 years. Read every post on this forum and others (Pristine ventures, Accurate Reloading, ect.) about the game you want to hunt, and areas. Prepare yourself mentally for your adventure, and the problems that can arise. Get books by Bartlett, Confer, McElvin, Strahan, and others suggested here, and read them over a couple of times. Research on propper game care, as it will be different in AK than what you do in your home state. I practiced an 3 deer this last fall, by skinning from the back down and quartering them out, instead of just hauling them out whole like I normally would. Practice camping on the weekends and get real familular with your gear. These are all things I have been doing, by sugestion from others on this forum. Very good info here from many knowledgable people. If the hunt is anywhere as fun as the last 2 years of preparation, I'm going to have a blast. Good luck in your preparation. Knute

Default Knute78

That was great advise enjoy the Rep Point!

Default Wally28 & Pine