Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Good Spotting Optics

Default Good Spotting Optics

This is my first year hunting as a resident. Where I come from in PA we don't use spotting optics. Heck, half the shots at whitetails are in a thicket at 30 yards. Here it is much much different. Anyway, I am picking up a spotting scope and I am just not sure which one. I never really used or had a need for them I thought so I would get some of your opinions.

I am going to be hunting bear, bou, moose etc. I have no idea what optics to get. I know I want something that fits in my pack easily, is light and clear. The prices run from hundreds to thousands. What would be a good scope for hunting up here?

I don't want to go more than $800.00 which from what I have seen should get me a good scope.

Default Leupold gold ring

I have a Leupold gold ring HD and I love the thing it is very clear and compact in size I cary it around in my pack when I am hunting all the above and it fits nicely. The power on it is a 12-40 but higher zoom capabilities are rarly used because after you go to a certin point it is useless due to the fact that you get a lot of distortion from heat waves and shake from wind or your hand etc. The Gold ring is in the price range that you stated but for a bit more you can get the HD version and in my opinion is worth every penny. I was looking for the same thing in a scope that you stated and ended up picking up the Leupold because it met all my needs. As far as compact and easy to cary and great clarity I dont think that it can bebeat for the price.
    When I bought this scope I looked through cabelas and sportsmans and the cheapest place I found it was at a place called the Impact area down here in Soldotna and he beat cabelas price by almost 200 dollers but that was almost 4 years ago I think I paid right at 900.00 for it through Travis there.

Quote Originally Posted by 0321Tony View Post