Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Kenai Mountain caribou

Default Kenai Mountain caribou

I drew a caribou tag for GMU 7 near Hope. I'm new to hunting and am not personally familiar with the area. Can anyone fill me in on the herd, terrain, and any suggestions?
    Thanks

Well, you are a typical permit winner, for the Hope Caribou Hunt. I have too wonder why you applied, if you have no idea where they are, or how to get into where they are.

I've spent 41 years wandering these hills around Hope, Alaska, I live at mile 7.3 of the Hope Road, and despite 30 years of applying I have never drawn a permit.

This is why the success rate is so low for those who draw the Hope Caribou Permit. Last fall I found five monster caribou, at the head of one valley, three would have easy gone into the record book. They are there.

Default i think

he is asking legitimate questions. you have to start somewhere, and that's what he is doing. with the permit system changed , he has 4 months to find things out and he is starting right away. i don't see anything wrong with that. what did you know about the area 41 years ago before you moved there?

Quote Originally Posted by buhorojo View Post
    I drew a caribou tag for GMU 7 near Hope. I'm new to hunting and am not personally familiar with the area. Can anyone fill me in on the herd, terrain, and any suggestions?
    Thanks
    Its not rocket science. Hike the resurrection trail for 5-10 miles. Turn right. When you reach the top, start looking for antlers. Keep walking. Keep looking. Repeat every weekend until you find one.

Not sure about the sour grapes response above. I applaud a guy who has won a permit and is starting early to get his ducks lined up. I've been hunting Alaska for more than 40 years and I would never claim to know everything.....not even close. Does that mean there are permits I should not apply for? Not hardly.