Thread: Grizzly 550?

Default Grizzly 550?

I've been riding a Kodiak 400 for the last 7 years and recently purchased a 2009 Grizzly 550 EPS. Here's the kicker, I am out of state until the end of May and have never even ridden a 550. Most of the traffic on this board seems centered around the big bore machines and I'm starting to wonder if I'm going to seriously regret not getting the 700. My 400 got me in and out of the bait station, moose camp, chitna, chicken, and countless other places. I figured the 550 would be as much machine as I would ever need, but I'm wondering if I'm really missing out on something by not getting one of the big boys. Is the power increase from the 400 to the 550 going to enough, or is it just going to wet my appetite for more?

Thanks,
    Dave

I ended up buying a used 2007 700 because the 550s with FI / EPS are really not available used. I looked at buying new and if I had bought new I would have bought a 550.

My research led me to these conclusions You won't notice much difference until you top out and the 550 will get slightly better mileage than a 700.

For what its worth the 660 is a great machine and I was told the a 550 with FI and EPS will hang with them no problem. Bigger is always nice, but as long as you got a good deal on your 550 I'd be content. You got a great machine that will do everything your old one did and then some. If you really get the urge for a bigger machine in a few years let me know. I'd like to get a used 550 for my 2nd machine in 2-3 years. : ) Just don't post stories about how high you jumped it or how deep you buried it in a river... : )