Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rafting the big Sue and moose hunting, good combo?

Default Rafting the big Sue and moose hunting, good combo?

I am new in terms of hunting Alaska. 2007 brings the promise of finally getting the chance to culminate my life's dream, to hunt in Alaska as a resident. Although new to Alaska, I have taken a Shiras (speling?) moose in Montana, two black bears, numerous mule/whitetail deer and my all time favorite, elk. I have 4 bulls over 385 with one almost hitting the magic 400 club. The Air Force has taken me all over this great nation, but I had to wait 19 years to finally get here. Well, GAME ON!! I just wanted to put some feelers out there to the rafting gurus to see if the combo raft/moose hunt is not only viable, but could it be successful?

The Big Sue gets alot of boat traffic you might do better to pick a river off the big Sue such as Deska Yetna and raft it. Also thanks for all that you do for our country I spent 12 year in the Air Force.

What would you recommend for put in/take out areas? I've been up on the Deska, but never floated it. I am probably a big dreamer, but I want a 60" bull and won't shoot anything smaller. I have been a rafting/catamaran guide for 4 years and grew up in Montana on plenty of rivers. I just need "stick time" up here and familiarize myself w/the area. BTW, thanks for the info...

I would fly out to a lake and then get pickup at the mouth. You can fly out to Alexander lake and float ALexander creek to the mouth. Dont know about the Deska. If your not going to shoot anything less than 60. Im not saying it cant happen but you stand a better chance some place like Dillingham or the Yukon. Chris

The Big Su does get a lot of traffic, but it is still hunted, and could be succesful. Not sure how many 60" racks are out there though.