Thread: Elliott Hwy Black Bears

Default Elliott Hwy Black Bears

What is the biggest Blackie anyone has taken off the Elliott Hwy area? I took a small one last year that was about 5', but I got excited. It was my first bear and I walked in on him. This year I plan to be patient and selective. I know that area is heavily hunted, but I wass just wonder the range in sizes.

I'm no expert on interior black bear hunting, but I've heard if you find a blackie at 6', you've found yourself a really nice bear. I guess they just don't get all that big up there as quickly as bears down here, but like said, that's mainly what I've heard.
    "Ya can't stop a bad guy with a middle finger and a bag of quarters!!!!"- Ted Nugent.

Quote Originally Posted by Ak Ammo View Post
    What is the biggest Blackie anyone has taken off the Elliott Hwy area? I took a small one last year that was about 5', but I got excited. It was my first bear and I walked in on him. This year I plan to be patient and selective. I know that area is heavily hunted, but I wass just wonder the range in sizes.
    Make your way to the seminar on the 10th at S.W at 1:00....we will show you some big bears :-)

every time we go to Manley Hot Springs we see a big blackie or 3, they are nice bears.

Release Lake Trout

Default bears

I know of a 7'3" and a 6'8" from that area.

You can find big bears anywhere around the Fairbanks area. You just have to be patient and NOT shoot the the little ones. If you shoot the little ones you either never see any big ones because you weren't patient enough to see one, or the little ones will never grow up and get big.