Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting from scratch

Default Starting from scratch

Ok guys, need big time help here. I am starting a garden from scratch and would like to make a rather descent size one as far as personal home gardens go. Perhaps a 40ft by 30ft or more if necessary.

What I want to know is what to do from the very beginning. Do I need to bring in dirt? Should I have the soil tested? Will the current dirt do just fine?

Should I simply tile up the original ground? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

I am a complete novice here and don't know much, other than the fact I want to learn.

Thanks guys!
    Marc Theiler

Look down about 10 posts below this one. There is one from Foxx with a link to old agriculture literature from the early 1900's. It will tell everything you need to know.

Basically, just clear the land, till it up and plant. You will have to fertilize heavily the first year and less and less in the future. Choose plants that do well in your area. Potatoes and carrots are a sure bet anywhere in AK and probably need the least fertilizer and care other than hilling dirt on the potato plant. Lettuce grows good and you get real early salads which is nice.

Have fun!

I have some advice - take with a grain of salt as this is only my second year of gardening.

Try raised beds and containers where possible. You can make long raised beds. You do not need to buy dirt - it' just easier than tillling/double digging, etc. One old friend of mine just raised her entire garden, it was maybe 15X15. Her garden grew very well.

Go out and find the Alaska Garden Guide vol. I. You will appreciate the book and read it over and over again.

Hope this helps.

Default Thanks Guys

Thanks guys. Time to hit up the library.

Any suggestions on what grows really well up here? I am also wanting to plant berry bushes, and strawberries. Any suggestions?
    Marc Theiler

Default another thought.....