Thread: Cast Performance Bullets and BB Ammunition

Default Cast Performance Bullets and BB Ammunition

Folks,

As I've followed a few threads, I've noticed several folks believe and perpetuate the myth that BB uses Cast Performance bullets in their loads that feature hard cast bullets.

There was a time when BB did use some Cast Performance bullets and they are pretty good bullets, generally speaking. However, over the years we've improved the crimp grooves (to keep "crimp jump" from happening) on the Cast Performance designs and we have the improved versions made for us locally. It has been quite some time since we have used Cast Performance bullets.

Over 12 years ago, I could see that cast bullets suffered from angled crimp grooves that actually facilitate "crimp jump". I had been shooting full house 454 Casull loads since about 1984 and noticed that the old style crimp grooves were obsolete when used with very heavy recoiling ammunition. I started shooting full house 500 Linebaugh loads in 1985 and it became even more apparant that traditional crimp grooves needed some changes and the same applies to loads like 357 magnum that are shot in tiny J frame guns made of light weight alloy, etc.

I designed wide and deep crimp grooves with a square bottom edge instead of the traditional "lead in" angle. As a result BB Ammunition will no longer "jump crimp". As ammo evolves (just like cars or trucks) it becomes more and more neccessary to get creative. Back in the day when the heaviest revolver cartridge was a 240gr. 44 mag., none of this mattered, but with the advent of the 454 Casull loaded with 325gr. and heavier bullets, (never mind light weight revolvers) crimp groove design became a real weakness in over all ammo dependability. To my understanding, only BB is now using such crimp groove designs with hard cast bullets, but I'm sure that with time, other ammo makers will see what BB has done and it will get copied.