Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need help on deciding what gun to buy for SE AK.

Default Need help on deciding what gun to buy for SE AK.

Hey Guys,
    Im fairly new to Alaska(moved to Juneau about 1 1/12 years ago) and i am l planning on going Brown bear hunting on Admirlty Island this year.
    I was wondering if you guys could help me decide which gun to buy,
    45/70
    .300 win mag

Also im looking into getting a new side arm a .44 magnum, do you guys think it will sufficient for brown bear?
    Thanks guys!!!

Ruger 375,338,350. Either of them would do just fine to drop dead. I shoot a 350 mag. I like it a lot. Let us know what you choose. The .44 is a great side arm.

Quote Originally Posted by akmike30 View Post
    Ruger 375,338,350. Either of them would do just fine to drop dead. I shoot a 350 mag. I like it a lot. Let us know what you choose. The .44 is a great side arm.
    what are your thoughts on the 45/70, around here i hear of a lot of people using it, but on the internet it doesn't seem to be popular. And its a lot cheaper compared to the rest.

Get a stainless/synthetic .338

Default Look at the Sticky

There is a sticky on the top of this forum with what everyone thinks is the best all around cartridge.

The question comes down to what you want. To me picking a rifle is kind of like picking a girl to dance with. You may dance with one a lot or just a few times, but there is always another girl to dance with. I personally would choose one of the more popular all around cartridges because I believe you will find more opportunity with that one rifle than with a rifle that is specialized for bears only.

Just my nickel,
    Drew
    Normal people believe that if something ain't broke, don't fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain't broke, it doesn't have enough features yet.

Scott Adams

Default Guide

Jake Jefferson (AKA BRNBR) almost never chimes in on these posts but, if you notice, he carries a 416. Nuff said.