Thread: Solo Hiker in May

Default Solo Hiker in May

Hello,

I'm a college student travelling solo to the Anchorage area for two weeks in May and am looking for some ideas on where to hike and how to get around relatively cheaply (so far, I haven't found a way to rent a car).

My hope was to land in Anchorage and then go around the Kenai peninsula for about a week, and then a bit Northwest of Anchroage, when hopefully the snow will have melted a bit.

Any ideas for me?

Thanks!
    Amanda

Amanda,

For getting around the Kenai Peninsula there is the Homer Stageline, they cover from Anchorage to Homer, Seward, etc.

For the journey North check with either the Park Connection or possibly the Alaska Railroad.

Not sure what difficulties you are having with rental cars (age perhaps I suppose), but we do have more than a few of 'em up here....

Lots of Hostel/Camping options for the budget traveler.

Good luck!
    “Life has become immeasurably better since I have been forced to stop taking it seriously.” ― H.S.T.
    "Character is how you treat those who can do nothing for you."

Lots of options around Anch in May, travelling is good that time of year. Chugach has everything from day hikes to multi day traverses, some quite remote and beautiful. The only limiting factors are time and imagination, and perhaps skill. Enjoy!

Thanks! That helps a lot. I would like to visit Chugach-any favorite hikes of yours that I should take?

I would suggest you go north first, and do Kenai after. I live in Hope, AK. Area and it snowed all day today, and we still have 48" of snow, much more than up north, which got very little snow this year. I would suggest "Gull Rock" trail, Bird Ridge trail.

I would definitely check out Flattop trail on the hillside in town- very popular, but for a good reason.

The trail to Eagle and Symphony lakes near Eagle River is also beautiful, fewer people on this trail with some amazing views at the end. ~7 miles and you can climb Cantata peak.