Thread: reloading kit

Default reloading kit

I'm new to reloading and wanting to purchase a kit. What is a good set up without breaking the bank? I am looking at either the RCBS rock chucker supreme or the Hornady Lock-n-load classic. Will these kits have everything besides dies to get started? I am mainly going to be loading 300 ultra mags. Thanks for any help.

Wasilla, AK

The Lyman T-Mag II is a great press to start with. Reliable, simple, and the parts will last forever.

This particular kit comes with everything you'll need to get started as well as keep going well into the semi-advanced skill levels. If you reload simply to save money and not seek the utmost in accuracy, this kit and a set of Hornady New Dimension dies will likely be all you need.

Of course, once you get addicted there are countless different things you can buy to tweak and tune your load. Some are worthwhile, and some a complete waste of time and money. The fun lies in finding out what fits which of those categories

I bought the Lee Anniversary Kit. It came with everything you need except the stuff that is caliber specific (dies, case length gauge, etc). I personally am gald I bought it. The press is a great press and as far as I'm concerned just about every single stage press is the same. I don't see the need to spend more on a single stage when mine works just fine and feels rock solid. The powder measure that comes with it is very accurate and always gives me the same amount of powder everytime (although I check every ten rounds to be sure).

The only complaint about the whole kit is the scale. It's something I plan on upgrading soon, but for $120.00 from Sportsmans it's hard to beat.

Kodiak, Ak

Default Look 'em over in detail

I have a feeling most of the presses are similar but I would look the kits over good to see what all is in there,