Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: which reel for 8wt

Default which reel for 8wt

So I had an oportunity to get a salt water rod g loomis cross current glx 9'. and I want to get a reel for it but i dont know which. I was looking at a Ross evolution lt #4 but heard that it would not do the job for the fish im looking to catch. I'm new to fly fishing in genreral so any help would be nice looking to spend 320 or less for the reel. Got the rod to use when I visit family in Florida Moslty for Snook, Redfish, Tarpin,bonefish. But while im here at home it would be nice to use for kings silvers Coho and Steel head if possible.

I can get a new Ross canyon black or gold for 220 heard mixed reviews on this reel and i know they're no longer made.

Grew up spear fishing and line fishing, but since mooving up here i have fallen in love with fly fishing.

thanks for any assistance.
    GG

Lamson, that is all you need to know
    Fish when you can, work when you have to.

Lamson makes good stuff for sure. I have the Velocity on my 7wt and love them. I also have the Ross Evolution 3.5 on my 8wt rig and that is a fantastic reel. Best I own in fact. I have used it on countless silvers and this reel is impressive in every way. I have the Ross Big Game Canyon reels for my 10 wt outfit but have not used it yet. Got it for kings in Alaska and false albacore in the salt of the Outer Banks in NC. The evolution is much lighter, the Canyon appears to be built like a brick shet house. If I were you, I would look at the Evolution first, then decide. With that said, the Lamson Velocity has a fantastic drag and was much cheaper when I bought these reels (2.5 years back). Many ways to skin a cat and these three options are all well suited from what I can see.
    The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.