Thread: Trolling Motor for 12' Jon Boat

Default Trolling Motor for 12' Jon Boat

I have no experience with electric trolling motors or how they are rated. I am looking for a small trolling motor for my 12' Jon boat to take the grandkids out on the local lakes around town. How big or should I say powerful of a tolling motor would it take to push a small boat like that around with say 300-400 lbs in it?

Default 30# thrust

You won't need anything fancy. Minn Kota Endura30 should do just fine. 30" shaft 30# of thrust is sufficient for a small jon boat or canoe.

My wife does alot of boating with a small skiff 9 foot plastic pontoon bass buggy and also a 16' hewescraft river runner for trout in the stocked Matsu lakes. She had a 36 pound thrust for years. It did well until she got in any sort of wind. Got her a 55 minkota last fall. She was a happy camper to say the least. Paid a little over 250 for it from cabelas with free shipping.

Last year Costco had some electric trolling motors for sale for about $150. or so. Has anyone had any experience with these. I believe they were Minkota motors.

Default electric motors

I have one of the smaller minn kota motors and it moves a small boat around good. As it's been said head winds can change things a bit. Sportsmans W. has a good line of them and as good a price as anywhere. The thing to keep in mind is it will only be as good as your battery.I paid more for the battery then the motor. Make sure to use a deep cycle and have it fully charged when you go out. The bigger the motor or the more power you give it will take the battery down faster. They are a great way to get around small lakes, no sound but the water lapping at the hull. look forward to soft water again. It won't be long!

Quote Originally Posted by power drifter View Post