Thread: NEWBIE bear stand question

Default NEWBIE bear stand question

how do you know where to set up a bait station if the bears aren't down in your area yet. like i said i'm a newbie to this so please take it easy on me...

That is why you put bait out...if you bait them they will come. Just like sharks in water; bears can sniff out dinner.
    First; make sure it is legal to bait in the area you want to bait. Do some research and find units with high numbers of black bears. Do some scouting. Look for natural travel avenues, wooded areas (black bears like cover), water sources, (places that feel right).

Big boars will be on the move looking for a companion; so they may hit your station for a day or two; then move on. That is why you need to keep an eye on your station for any recent activity.

Once you get your bait set; it may take several weeks before you get a hit. Try to avoid areas that may have brown bears; once they are on your bait; they will chase black bears away.

Do some research...pick an area....do some scouting....find a decent spot....register the site.....put your bait out....be patient...harvest a bear....tell your story hear....

good luck.

thank you VERY much!!! so let me make sure that i'm understanding this right. basically i'm researching and scouting for the right area more than the animal. i'm sorry if it seems like i'm an idiot, like i said, i'm brand new to this. thank you for the help!! ill do my scouting and research!!

another question, are trail cameras a good idea. or are bears basically like most other animals and move mainly morning and evening?

thank you for the help!!