Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Polaris Sportsman 500 starter???

Thumbs down Polaris Sportsman 500 starter???

I have a 2002 Polaris Sportsman 500 6X6 and the starter just spins when engaged. I am a 30 year aircraft mechanic and just figured the bendix shaft is likely corroded and needs cleaning and lubing. I also have the factory manual, which does not say JACK about removal. The aft of the two flange bolts hit the inner primary cover, which leads me to believe I have to pull the PVT clutch and driven peaves, inner primary (special tools seem required...unable to budge PVT clutch) in order to have enough clearance to rotate the starter to remove the aft bolt. I have the outer primary off (TERRIBLE design in having to remove and lift aft fairing just to do that) and the manual says "just pull the belt up off the driven sheaves to remove and replace. RIGHT! No WAY, I can't possibly imagine doing in two feet of water or mud 30 miles from NOWHERE, Alaska...even though I ALWAYS pack a spare belt, seal, tools, etc. Is the anybody out there who can shed some light on any possible way to remove the inner primary and related components without special tools, or a "secret on the bolt ( I will surely shorten upon re-installation? Please, this is an awesome resource and I know there was a guy (possibly a cop) in Palmer that "really KNEW his 6 wheeler", but lost his number. Any help IS much appreciated??? Thanks...

Starter issues on the Popos are well documented. I had a 2005 Sportsman 500 and the starter went out as well. I talked to the dealership about replacing it and was shocked when they wanted over $300.00 to replace it (no including labor). I just used the pull start from then on. I was told to check the ATV salvage yard in Eagle River but I just got used to pull starting the quad so I never checked into it.
    2007 Yamaha Rhino 660
    2007 Yamaha Grizzly 700 SE w/EPS
    http://www.grizzlycentral.com/

Angry Case closed...problem solved!