Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Abundance management.

Default Abundance management.

I'm studying to take the Master Hunter test in Washington State and stumbled across a couple gems in the manual that relate to the Abundance Management scheme being pushed by SFW and the AOC and other groups. These two items explain why abundance based management may be doomed from the start or certainly after a short time frame and it has nothing to do with predators and everything to do with carrying capacity. It also explains why someone who is being paid to manage wildlife should have an education into the dynamics of wildlife.

The first is called the Principle of Inversity. Basically it means, as the numbers of breeders of a species increases, the survival of the young decreases. It's one of natures ways of controlling populations barring a catastrophic event such as a bad winter, or a fire, or even something man made such as clearcut logging. These events can tip the scales for a time in one direction or another. But because of inversity, more adults mean more strain on the habitat. Nature compensates for this by causing the females to have less offspring for starters. If you want to see it in a short time scale, look at artic hares. They go from boom to bust and back to boom on a regular basis. When the peak comes, the females start having less and smaller litters and the population suddenly crashes. Then while the population is climbing again, they have multiple litters with multiple offspring and the population grows at an astounding rate.