Thread: Say I Draw a tag? When ever they may come out.

Default Say I Draw a tag? When ever they may come out.

I put in for DS136, DS137 and DS141 mainly becasue if I do draw, they did not pose that much of a logistical nightmare, for a Solo Sheep hunter coming up from Texas. For your guys first thought yes, I am an Alaskan Resident.
    On to my question. With all the vairables you can think off. Realistically How many miles on average do you think someone would cover or have you have covered on foot? Just a steady pace no rush and ample daylight.
    I have read of people trekking in 20miles to get to where they sheep hunt. Along with watching the Alaska Expermint and they average about 6 miles a day.

With 136 and 137 you'd be looking at anywhere from 5-20 miles, whereas 141 could be shorter. As for how long it would take you, 6 miles a day seems a little on the low side, but that depends on your access trail and your fitness.

Wink Fortunate few...

For 136 and 137, the flat trail miles are not a problem for anybody who hikes or backpacks and is reasonably trim and conditioned. The only difficult few miles are when you leave the river bottom trail and bushwack up to sheep elevation. So the flat miles would generally not take a conditioned hiker more than two or three hours hiking time even with a standard overloaded pack. The mile or two of bushwacking up to sheep killing elevation can take the rest of the daylight hours of that day, if you are not familiar with the different routes.

There are those who "routinely" hike that country and have found some convenient moose trails that reach up above the highest elevation of alderbrush. As in any and every hunt, pre-approach info gained by preseason weekend hiking, can reduce the energy expendature of wrestling with alders, wasted uphill miles and hours...

Those are very high percentage and wonderful hunts for the fortunate few who draw them.