Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: ATV Registration

Default ATV Registration

I am new to Alaska and was wondering if I have to register my ATV.

Thanks

Yup. Just like snowmachines. They give you a sticker and registration. I think it's 10 buck.

Welcome to Alaska and welcome to the forums!

It's not mandatory though

A snow vehicle is a vehicle propelled by mechanical power, supported in part by ski's, belts, cleats, or low pressure tires and primarily designed to travel over ice and snow. ATVs with low pressure tires may be registered as snow vehicles.

Snowmachines and ATV's are NOT titled in Alaska, however snowmachines are required to be registered unless they are operated solely on private property. A snow vehicle season is from October 1st to September 30th of the second year. The expiration for a snow vehicle obtaining an original registration in Alaska, or registering a snow vehicle that has been expired over one year will be issued a registration for two, four or six years for the current calendar year

This was taken from DMV's website. I was informed that ATV's are required by law to be registered says so a Trooper that stopped me. I know that saying a Trooper may not hold water with some of you but if you read the rules above key words being "low pressure tires" and "primarily designed to travel over ice and snow" I would say he was correct. Here is the link to DMV's site http://www.state.ak.us/local/akpages...v/reg/snow.htm
    If you notice at the top it says Snowmachines and ATV's. If this is not correct and you can prove it it would save me $20 every 2 years.

I always thought the law was that you had to register them if you drive in Alaska State Parklands.Like above Anchorage or turnigan pass.

Default Snow Machine Sticker

What is funny is that when you register the ATV, you get a Snow Machine Registration sticker!
    "Never again shall one generation of Veterans abandon another".
    Vietnam - June 70 - Feb. 72