Thread: Predator Hunting

crazedBOWhunter

Default Predator Hunting

I'm new to Alaska and have been out a few times attempting to do some predator calling. Mostly concentrating on rabbit distress calls, which worked very well for me back in the lower 48. I've called in lots of coyotes and a couple cats using distress calls in the lower 48. However, I am having absolutely no luck with getting anything in after multiple attempts. Any advice on what works well to get wolves, fox, coyotes, or lynx in to your calls?

It depends on where you go, some areas around here get alot of pressure.
    "Ya can't stop a bad guy with a middle finger and a bag of quarters!!!!"- Ted Nugent.

I have used the rabbit distress with good results. I've had fox and coyote come in. I've seen people call in Lynx with rabbit distress also.
    "...arms like laws discourage and keep the invader and plunderer in awe...Horrid mischief would ensue were the good deprived of the use of them." -Thomas Paine

Crazed, there is a predator hunting forum just above or below this one.

I am new to predator hunting, this is my first year. Starting to get a bit discouraged after being out multiple times with no luck. I'm using a foxpro and a quivering critter, mostly using the rabbit in distress as well. Ill be watching this thread. I really want to get my boy excited about it, but nothing so far.
    Bob

Become one with Nature......... Then Marinade it.

I'm fairly new to the predator calling game as well, but everything I'd read and heard from experienced callers is that Alaska is totally different from the lower 48 with regards to success rates. Folks that routinely call in multiple coyotes each day in the lower 48 report that they might get a response on one out of 15 stands up here. It's a low percentage game, to be sure. There are things that you can do to increase your odds, but the #1 factor is going to be time spent afield.