Thread: Dealing with Rifle damaged in the mail

Default Dealing with Rifle damaged in the mail

I need some help. I mailed a rifle to anchorage, it was damaged in route. Has anyone had any dealings like this? I did insure it with the USPS.

How do I get an official value and damage estimate?

The wood on the stock has some significant scratches.

Any help would be most appreciated and PMs are welcomed.

Thanks in Advance

Steve

I have no practical experience with this. That being said, I would call the local postmaster and ask what they require. They're still at work for another hour or so.
    ><((((>.`..`.. ><((((>`..`.><((((>

"People who drink light 'beer' don't like the taste of beer; they
    just like to pee a lot." --Capitol Brewery

Yup, call the Postmaster, or just go down there and start the paperwork. They lost an Ebay item I shipped to Canada and I have been waiting for word on my clime 9 weeks now, they are very slow but everyone says they will pay. My item was out-N-out lost and international so I don't know about damage but the Post Office/Postmaster is the place to start.
    Andy
    On the web= C-lazy-F.co
    Email= Andy@C-lazy-F.co
    Call/Text 602-315-2406
    Phoenix Arizona

Call your local PM. He will most likely tell you to bring the damaged artical along with the box that it was shipped in. The box that it was shipped in is very important for you to receice your claim. I would tell you to just go to the post office but they may freak if you walk in with a rifle. Better to call first. Also your office may not handle claims and they will tell you where to go. Good luck. Also make sure you have your insurance paperwork.